Skip to main content

logoCorrectSize.png

Adaptive Insights LLC.

Create, Edit, or Delete Users

Explains how to add new users, change  or unlock their passwords, and assign owned levels to users. Also explains how to delete a user .

Contains preview content for the upcoming 2019.3 release.

When you create a user, you're filling one of the available seats that your company purchased with your license agreement. When you delete a user, the seat becomes available again for future new users. 

You must assign every user a single role. Without a role, the user can't log in. The role permissions define the type of seat the users have and also what they can do in the instance. For example, can they access sheets, or modeling, or both?

Administrators with the Admin Access > Users permission can create and maintain users, and administrators with Manage Global User Groups can also assign users to Global Email Groups. Any user can update their own profile and change their password. 

Before You Begin

New to Administration? See Users and Roles Overview and the Users Interface Tour.

Required permissions: 

  • Admin Access > Users to create and edit users, and update passwords.
  • Model Management Access > Organization Structure to assign levels to users.
  • Admin Access > Roles to assign users roles. All users need an assigned role to log in.

Before you create users IDs, first create roles or familiarize yourself with the permissions for each role in your instance. You must assign a role to users to activate their credentials. See Roles and Permissions Overview.

If you use access rules, you must assign the user an access rule, or add the user to a group that already has access rules defined for it. Otherwise, the user can't access any data in Adaptive Insights. See Access Rules Overview.

If you synchronize users from Workday as part of Power of One, you must manage users within Workday. In Adaptive Insights you can only edit Role and Owned Levels for synchronized users. All other user details become read-only. If an admin begins editing a user profile before user synchronization begins and does not log out, that user profile remains editable until the admin logs out. 

How You Get There

Compass.png From the nav menu, select Administration

Create User IDs

Required Permission: Admin Access > Users 

  1. From the Users and Roles page, select Users.
  2. From the All Users page, select the New User button.
  3. Complete at least the required fields: Name, Username and Password.  See User Fields for more information on all the fields. See Manage Passwords to learn how to reset a password.
  4. Select the Owned Levels for the user. You need the Model Management Access > Organization Structure permissions to see this field. 
  5. From the Role drop-down, assign the user a role to give the user access to Adaptive Insights. You need the Admin Access > Roles permission to see this field.
  6. Consider adding an Email address or selecting the Use username as email radio button. An email icon appears next to the username on the All Users page. Select the email icon to send the user an email.  
  7. Submit to save your changes.  The user appears in the list of all users. 

You can also create a new user from the roles page: Go to Administration > Roles and Permissions and select a role from the list. Select the New User button.

Assign Owned Levels

Owned levels function differently if you have access rules enabled. See Assign Levels to Owners

When users own a level, they own all the sub-levels below it too. You can expand levels to be more precise. When a user owns a level, they can access the level's data in sheets and reports.

  1. From the All Users page, find the user in the list and select the Edit link next to the Login (username). 
  2. Enter the level name in the search field or expand and collapse the level list. 
  3. Select the checkboxes next to any level that you want the user to be able to see in Adaptive Insights
  • Select collapsed levels to include all the sub-levels within it. 
  • Expand collapsed levels to be more precise in your selection. 
  1. Select Submit

You can also assign owned levels when you manage levels. See Assign Owners to Levels.

Assign or Change User Roles

From the user profile page, select a different role from the Roles drop-down. To edit the role's permissions, see Create and Edit Roles

Edit User Profiles

Select the Edit link next to the user profile you want to edit. Make any changes to the fields and settings and save.

Delete Users

Find the user in the list and select the Edit link next to the Login (username). Select the Delete button at the bottom of the page and select OK

Deleting a user does not delete:

  • Data they entered.
  • Shared reports they created.
  • Audit trail history they created.
  • Action logs, such as import history or user activity login history.

It does delete any personal reports they created. 

If the user has access to more than one instance, you need to delete them from each one.

  • Was this article helpful?