Skip to main content

logoCorrectSize.png

Adaptive Insights LLC.

Secure OfficeConnect Files

Explains how to secure the data of OfficeConnect reports.

OfficeConnect uses time-out to keep your files secure. If you’ve gone longer than 60 minutes (or however long your timeout is specified) without refreshing your report, you are prompted for your password the next time you try to refresh.

The security level of each user’s role in Adaptive Insights is applied in OfficeConnect. If a user only has access to data from a certain level, only data from that level is returned.

Important! You have the option to clear data to help you maintain extra protection of your organization’s sensitive information. You can clear data with every save operation. See Saving an OfficeConnect Workbook. You can turn that option off while you work, and then clear the data just before you close the file.

From the Design group, select Clear Data.
The data fields are replaced with a placeholder text like "n/a"

Worksheet with data replaced by placeholder text

After clearing data, you can close the workbook. When you open the workbook again, the linked cells will continue to show "n/a" until you refresh the report. 

You can change the cleared data field placeholder text to whatever you want.

To change the clear data field placeholder text:

  1. Select User Settings.
    The Default Settings dialog box appears.

  2. On the General tab, in the Security block result text fieldenter the desired text.

  3. Select OK.
    The next time you select Clear Data, the new string replaces all the connected fields.

 

  • Was this article helpful?