Skip to main content

logoCorrectSize.png

Adaptive Insights LLC.

Perspective Snapshots

Introduces you to perspective snapshots, a way to send a PDF of dashboards and charts for a point in time. Explains how to view a sent snapshot and how to view it from a list of sent snapshots.

Contains preview content for the upcoming 2019.3 release. 

A snapshot is static image of a dashboard, chart, or report.

A snapshot includes content from all dashboards and charts in a perspective. Users who get snapshots can click the link to save a PDF of the snapshot to the downloads folder on their computer. Anyone with access to Dashboards can receive a snapshot even if they don't have share access to the perspective.

As the owner of a perspective, you can send recurring or one-time snapshots. As the owner or the receiver of a snapshot, you can:

  • View the sent snapshot.
  • View a list of sent snapshots from Dashboards.

Snapshot Information

When you receive a snapshot, information about the snapshot is available.

The PDF title page includes:

  • The name of the perspective
  • Perspective context:
    • Time
    • Level
    • Currency

Footer on all PDF pages: 

  • Generated by: The user name of the person who created and sent the snapshot.
  • Date and time when the snapshot was generated

View the Sent Snapshot

Check your email and open the message saying that a snapshot was shared with you. You must be logged in to Adaptive Insights to download. If you are not logged in, you are redirected to the the login page.

To view from Workday, look for a notification in Workday.

Click Open Snapshot to download the perspective as a PDF to your computer. A message indicates that the snapshot is downloading. You can also click Open Perspectives to go to the Perspectives Overview.

Check your downloads folder on your computer and look for the perspective saved as a PDF:

Example of Snapshot in a Downloads Folder

View a List of Sent Snapshots 

Perspective owners who have sent snapshots and anyone who has received snapshots through email can view a list of one-time and recurring sent snapshots from Dashboards.

This list has the following columns:

  • Name: The name given to the snapshot.
  • Created by: The user name of the person who sent the snapshot.
  • Created Date: The date when the snapshot was sent.
  • Shared: The number of people who received this snapshot—excluding the person sending the snapshot.
  • Perspective: The perspective from which the snapshot was taken.
  • Parameters: Perspective context information, such as  time, level, and currency.

View and Download the Snapshot

  1. From the nav menu, click Dashboards.
  2. Select Snapshot History iconfrom the sidebar. You'll see list of previously sent snapshots.
  3. Select the name to download the snapshot PDF to your computer. Alternatively, you can select More Icon More icon and select Download.

Delete the Snapshot

If you created the snapshot, deleting it from Dashboards will delete all copies for everyone who received the snapshot. If you received the snapshot, deleting it from Dashboards will delete only your copy of the snapshot.

  1. From the nav menu, click Dashboards.
  2. Select Snapshot History iconfrom the sidebar.
  3. Select More Icon More icon and select Delete. A confirmation displays.
  4. Select Ok to delete.
  • Was this article helpful?