Skip to main content
Adaptive Insights
Knowledge and Support - Adaptive Insights

Secure OfficeConnect Files

Explains how to secure the data of OfficeConnect reports.

OfficeConnect uses time-out to keep your files secure. If you’ve gone longer than 60 minutes (or however long your timeout is specified) without refreshing your report, you are prompted for your password the next time you try to refresh.

The security level of each user’s role in Adaptive Planning is applied in OfficeConnect. If a user only has access to data from a certain level, only data from that level is returned.

Important! You have the option to clear data to help you maintain extra protection of your organization’s sensitive information. In Saving an OfficeConnect Workbook, you read that you can clear data with every save operation. You can turn that option off while you work, and then clear the data just before you close the file.

Click Clear Data from the OfficeConnect tab > Design group,.
The data fields are replaced with a placeholder like n/a:

Worksheet with data replaced by placeholder text

After clearing data, you can close the workbook. When you open the workbook again, the Adaptive data fields will continue to show n/a until you refresh the report. 

You can change the cleared data field placeholder to whatever you want.

To change the cleared data field placeholder:

  1.  Click User Settings from the OfficeConnect tab.
    The Default Settings dialog box appears.

  2.  On the General tab, select the n/a in the box labeled Security block result text.

  3.  Change the n/a to whatever text or number string you want. Click OK.
    The next time you click Clear Data, this string replaces all the Adaptive fields.

  • Was this article helpful?