Skip to main content

logoCorrectSize.png

Workday Adaptive Planning Knowledge Center

Change Account Formulas and Overrides

Explains how to edit account formulas and master formulas, to create version-specific formulas using the formula version selector, and to manage default and override formulas.

Account formulas calculate data across versions and levels and prevent user errors. Formula overrides enable you to change the calculations in specific versions. Data entry overrides enable you to enter or import data in specific versions. 

When you lock a version, the existing formula becomes an override formula. This enables you to update the formulas without affecting the data in the locked version.

Prerequisites

Navigation

Navigation Icon5.png From the nav menu, select Modeling. From the Accounts menu, select:

  • General Ledger Accounts
  • Custom Accounts
  • Metric Accounts
  • Assumptions

Navigation Icon5.png From the nav menu, click Modeling. From the Sheets menu, click either Level-Assigned Sheets or User-Assigned Sheets. Click the Edit link next to the cube or modeled sheet. Select the Cube Accounts link or the Modeled Accounts link.  

Add Default Formula

Adding default formulas changes all data in all versions, including locked versions.

  1. From the account list, click any account that isn't a rollup account.
  2. In the settings, find the Data Type section.
  3. If the Formula or Master Formula text box is blank, enter a formula.
    If it isn't blank, the version already has a default formula. You can edit the formula or create an override for selected versions. 
  4. (Optional) Click the Disable Version-Specific Formula Setting check box. 
    This setting makes the account always use the default formula.

Change Default Formulas

Changing the default formula changes data in versions using the default formula. It does not change data in locked versions or versions with overrides.

  1. From the account list, click any account that isn't a rollup account.
  2. In the settings, find the Data Type section.
  3. From the Formula Version Selector prompt, choose a version that has None for the Override Formula Setting.
    None indicates that the formula displayed is the default.
  4. Edit the formula and save.

If the Override Formula Setting is Override Formula, you can click None to view the default formula. However, if you change the default formula from here, you delete the override for the version.

For general ledger and custom accounts, the Master Formula text box may be blank. This means the account is a standard input account. Entering formulas changes the account to a calculated account and replaces all the data with the calculated values in all versions, including locked versions. 

Delete Default Formulas

Deleting default formulas deletes all data for the account in all versions. This includes locked versions and versions with existing override formulas. 

You can delete formulas of general ledger and custom accounts. You can't delete formulas of metric, cube calculated, and modeled calculated accounts.

To delete the default formula: 

  1. From the account list, click any account that isn't a rollup account.
  2. In the settings, find the Data Type section.
  3. From the Override Formula Setting, choose None.  
  4. Delete the formula in the Master Formula or Formula text box and save.

Add and Change Formula Overrides 

You can override the default formula with another formula or with data entry.

Adding override formulas changes the data in the selected version. Adding the data entry override removes data in the selected version. This enables you to enter data in sheets, or import data. Adding data entry overrides doesn't affect data in:

  • Locked versions.
  • Other versions with overrides.
  • Versions using the default formula.

To add an override

  1. From the account list, click any account that isn't a rollup account.
  2. In the settings, find the Data Type section.
  3. If necessary, uncheck Disable Version-Specific Formula Settings. Click Save to activate the override settings.  
  4. From the Formula Version Selector, click an unlocked version. 
  5. From the Override Formula Setting prompt, click:
    • Override Formula to create a new formula for the selected version.
      If it's already selected, the version already has an override that you can change.
      If you delete the override formula, the account reverts to the default formula.
    • Data Entry to unlock the account in sheets.

Data Entry is not available for calculated accounts in merged cube sheets and modeled sheets, or metric accounts.

Revert to Default Formula

Reverting to the default formula, changes data for the selected version. It doesn't affect data in: 

  • Locked versions.
  • Other versions with overrides.
  • Version using the default.

To remove overrides from a version: 

  1. From the account list, click any account that isn't a rollup account.
  2. In the settings, find the Data Type section.
  3. From the Formula Version Selector, click a version with an override. The Override Formula Setting is Override Formula or Data Entry.
  4. From the Override Formula Setting prompt, click None and save. 

Remove Overrides from All Versions

Removing all overrides from all versions changes the data in any version with an override, including locked versions. It doesn't change data in versions already using the default formula.

To remove all the overrides of an account: 

  1. From the account list, click any account that isn't a rollup account.
  2. In the settings, find the Data Type section.
  3. Click the check box for Disable Version-Specific Formula Setting. Checking this check box:
    • Reverts the account to the default formula for all versions, including locked versions.
    • Prevents users from creating overrides for the account.
    • Removes automatic protection of the account for current and future locked versions.

Import Data into Calculated Accounts with Data Entry Option

For calculated account with the Data Entry override, use the manual spreadsheet import. You can't use the

  • importStandardData API 
  • Design Integrations data loaders

Activate Locked Formula Override Settings

Read-only or Locked Setting Reason 
Formula or Master Formula  Unlock the version you selected from Version Formula Selector prompt. See Lock or Hide Versions.
Version Formula Selector and Formula Override Setting Uncheck the Disable Version-Specific Formula Setting.
Data Entry text box in place of Formula or Master Formula text box. The selected version has a data entry override. You can't enter any data or formula in the text box. To change, select Formula Override or None from the Formula Override Setting.
  • Was this article helpful?