Audience: Administrators who manage the model.
An account is a container that groups actuals or planning information, like expenses, assets, liabilities, sales, and any business metrics.
When you delete accounts, you may affect other accounts and other parts of your model.
- If you delete a rollup account, you delete all its child accounts and their data.
- If you delete the only child account of an account, the data in the child account moves to the rollup account.
- If you delete one of several child accounts, you delete the data, any splits, auto-trail data, and all mappings in the account. You also break any formulas that reference the account.
- See Reference: Built-In General Ledger Accounts for a list of accounts that you can't delete.
If you delete an account, you delete all its data for all versions. If the account is the only child of a rollup account, the data moves to its rollup account.
- New to accounts? See Concept: Accounts.
- Required permissions: Model Management Access > Model.
- Additional permissions based on tasks: Model Management > Assumptions for assumption accounts or Model Management > Import Structure.
- View dependencies to see how the account is used by other accounts and consider re-parenting the account's child accounts before you delete. See Reorganize Account Structure.
From the nav menu, select Modeling. From the Accounts menu, select: General Ledger Accounts, Custom Accounts, Metric Accounts, or Assumptions.
Delete an Account
- From the account list, highlight the account.
- In the Account Details panel, select View Dependencies and update any related components as needed.
- Select in the toolbar to delete.