Skip to main content

logoCorrectSize.png

Adaptive Insights LLC.

Plan Version Fields and Settings

Plan versions, also referred to as planning versions, plans, and planning, may be budgets, what-if scenar­ios, or almost anything else you can imagine.

Complete the Version Details described here. You might also want to read about:

General Section

Field Name: Field Description:
Name

(required) Unique name. For example: "Budget 2009" and "Profit Plan 2008 - Version 2." 

Short name

Overrides the automatic abbreviation of the version name.

Description

Describes the version, but only displays on this screen.

Access Control Section

Field Name: Field Description:
Locked version

Prevents anyone from editing the data. Any user access defined for the version automatically adjusts to Locked or Locked Except Notes. Check this option to close out a version as the budget of record for a given year. Locked versions have lock icon versionLocked.png in the versions list and in the version selector in the toolbar.

Global changes, like adding or deleting accounts or levels will affect locked versions.

Calculate formulas values

If you checked Locked version, you can also select this option which permanently saves any calculated values in the version. This speeds up load time because values don't need to be calculated each time the report or the sheet is opened. 

Once a version has had Calculate formula values applied to it, any structural changes that affect formulas, such as changing accounts, may require you to apply these formulas again.

Administrators, Users, Editable sheet access, Group, Access level

Unlocks, locks, or hides the version for each user type. See Version Access Controls.

 

Options

Field Name: Field Description:
Left scroll limit

The earliest time period you can see of this version. Choose a fiscal year, and the starting time is the first period of that year, usually January.  For example, if you select the year 2016, the user can see data from January 2016.  

It can be prior to the Start of plan date, but not after. Time periods prior to start of plan display actuals data if they have been marked as completed in the Actuals version. See Set Up or Turn Off Actuals Overlay and Move the Left Scroll Limit.

End of plan

The last time period you can see. Anytime you choose an end of plan date that comes after the pre-selected time period, Extension Options appear at the bottom of the screen. You can choose what to copy into the additional years of the plan for assumptions, value lookups, and all other accounts:

  • Copy Final Year Forward copies the data of the final year into all additional years. 

  • Copy Final Month Forward copies all the data of the final month into all additional months

  • New Years Start Blank leaves the additional years in the version blank.

Start of plan

When the plan data begins and the actuals overlay data stops. Select the fiscal year and it will default to the last segment of the smallest time period of the selected year. For example December if months are the smallest time period. See Set Up or Turn Off Actuals Overlay.

Lock leading months through

Makes specified periods of data uneditable in the version.  If you have a custom calendar set up for your instance, this field name changes to reflect the lowest time segment available (day, week, month, and so on). See Lock or Hide Versions.

Default

Makes the version the default version for all users. The default version is bolded on the version list and only one version can be the default.  See Change Your Plan Version Default.

Audit Trail

Tracks user changes to data in sheets, through imports, and from updates made in the Formulas Tab. With this setting, users can create Audit Trail Searches in Reports.

If you uncheck this option for a version, all previously recorded Audit Trail information for that version is deleted.

Actuals overlay includes unavailable levels

Displays all levels, even ones that are no longer used, in actuals overlays. 

Actuals version for overlay

(Available for instances with actuals sub-versions only). Overlays the plan data with the actuals version data you choose from the drop-down.  The data in actuals is visible to anyone with access to the plan, even if the actuals version is hidden. See Setup or Turn Off Actuals Overlay.

Drill into Transactions

(available only with transaction module) Enables the ability to drill into transactions for the version. See Transaction Reports and Drill Through. This option only works for Adaptive Insights drill-through and does not work for NetSuite drill through. The default setting shows raw transaction reports. If a version with this option enabled is cloned, the clone defaults with this setting.

New Version Options

These options only appear if this is a new plan version:

Field Name: Field Description: 
Start as a copy of version

Copies the data of an existing version to start the new version. Select the version to copy.

Copy all data

Copies all numbers and formulas in standard accounts, cube accounts, assumptions, and exchange rates from the source version to the newly created version. Data on modeled sheets is copied only if modeled rows are also included.  Also select Copy splits on GL and custom accounts to include data stored in splits.

Copy shared formulas and rules

Copies all formulas from the Formulas tab and rule scopes from rule administration pages, such as Allocation Rules.

Copy splits in GL and custom accounts

Copies all splits in GL and Custom Accounts from the source version. These splits retain all dimensions. To copy the numeric values (any values on the rows which correspond to months) also select Copy all data.

Copy modeled rows

Copies all modeled rows from the source version. These rows retain all dimensions, but their initial-balance and timespan values (any values on the rows that correspond to months) are copied only if the Copy all data check box is checked.

Copy cell, sheet, and workflow notes

Copies all cell, sheet, and workflow notes from the source version, along with information about who last updated them and when. If not checked, the new version starts with no cell, sheet, or workflow notes at all.

Reset workflow status to in progress

Sets all sheets and other workflow items to in progress for the new version. If not checked, all workflow items in the new version will retain the current status as of the copy. If workflow status is complete in the version being copied, for example, the new version will be read-only. 

Copy audit trail history

Copies the audit trail history from the version being copied. If not checked, the audit trail history is empty in the new version. If you want the new version to start tracking changes made only within the new version itself, leave the box unchecked.

Add as report parameter choice to all reports

Includes new version in any reports with versions as a parameter. When unchecked, the new version is only added to reports with the source version as a parameter.

Copy recalculated values of sheets

Copies the recalculated values from cube and modeled sheets where the 'Recalculate on demand' property is checked for those sheets.

  • Was this article helpful?