Skip to main content

logoCorrectSize.png

Adaptive Insights LLC.

Create and Edit Plan Versions

Explains how to create, edit, and copy  the different types of versions and planning version folders.

Create different plan versions with the different buttons in the toolbar:

  • NewPlanVersion.png Plan versions: Copies of existing plans. You can choose how much to copy.
  • New Virtual Version2.png Virtual versions: Composites of other versions. See Create Virtual Versions
  • NewVersionFolder.png Plan folders: Organize plan versions. 

When you select Create New Plan Version NewPlanVersion.png, you start the version as a copy of whatever version you selected from the version list. If you select a plan folder, you copy your default version. In the New Version Options section, choose the options to control how much of the version you copy. 

Before You Begin

  • New to Versions? See Version Overview and Version Types.
  • Required permission: Model Management Access > Model and Model Management Access > Versions

How You Get There

Compass.png From the nav menu, select Modeling. Then, from the Versions and Time menu, select Versions.

Copy Plan Data

Copies the entire plan version, including all the data.

  1. From the version list, select the plan version to copy.
  2. Temporarily lock the version so all data copies to the new version. In the Access Control section, check the Locked version option. The drop-downs for Administrators, Users, Editable sheet access and Group change to Locked Except Notes
    LockVersion.png
  3. Save the version.
  4. Select Create New Plan Version NewPlanVersion.png and enter a name for the new version. In the Description, include the name of the copied version for future reference. 
  5. In the New Version Options section:
    1. Check these options:
      • Copy all data
      • Copy shared formulas and rules
      • Copy Audit trail to keep the history of the copied version.
    2. Consider checking: 
      • Copy splits in GL and custom accounts: Otherwise, you'll just copy the totals. 
      • Copy modeled rows: Otherwise, modeled sheets will have no rows until you add them. If you copy them, you can edit the rows with updates.
      • Copy cell, sheet, and workflow notes
      • Add as report parameter: This new version becomes an option automatically for all reports that use version as a parameter.
         Suggested settings to copy a version
    3. Consider unchecking Reset workflow status to in progress, so that you copy the rejected and approved workflow statuses of the version you're copying. 
  6. Save the version.
  7. Return to the original version that you copied:
    1. Uncheck the Locked version option.
    2. Update the access in each of the drop-downs in the Access Control section. 

Copy Version without Data

Copies the version rules, splits, and more, but leaves the data blank

  1. Uncheck Copy all data.
  2. Consider checking: 
    • Copy shared formulas and rules: In the cells, you see f(x) until you enter the referenced data. 
    • Copy splits in GL and custom accounts: Sheets and reports keep the splits and associated dimensions. The split cells in the sheets will be blank.
    • Copy modeled rows: The modeled sheets have all the rows with the dimensions but not the initial balances and cell data. Otherwise the model sheets have no rows and you must add them. 
  3. Save.

Create Plans without Copying

Creates a completely fresh version:

  1. From Start as Copy of Version drop-down, leave the default selected . The other options you select prevent the copy.
  2. Uncheck:
  • Copy all data
  • Copy splits in GL and custom accounts
  • Copy modeled rows
  • Copy cell, sheet, and workflow notes
  • Copy audit trail history

    New plan version settings when you don't want to copy
  1. Select Reset workflow status to in progress so you don't keep the rejected and approved workflow statuses of the version you're copying. 
  2. Consider selecting: 
  • Copy shared formulas to copy the shared formulas of the selected plan into your new plan. Otherwise, you must recreate shared formulas for the new plan. 
  • Add as report parameter and reports that filter by version will automatically have this new version as a filter option. 

Select Plan Version Options

These are the major settings for plan versions. For a full description of each setting, see Plan Versions Fields and Settings.

Settings Description

Left Scroll Limit

The earliest time period you can see of this version. Choose a fiscal year, and the starting time is the first period of that year, usually January.  For example, if you select the year 2016, the user can see data from January 2016.  

It can be prior to the Start of plan date, but not after. Time periods prior to start of plan display actuals data if they have been marked as completed in the Actuals version. See Set Up or Turn Off Actuals Overlay and Move the Left Scroll Limit.

 

End of Plan

The last time period you can see. Anytime you choose an end of plan date that comes after the pre-selected time period, Extension Options appear at the bottom of the screen. You can choose what to copy into the additional years of the plan for assumptions, value lookups, and all other accounts:

  • Copy Final Year Forward copies the data of the final year into all additional years. 

  • Copy Final Month Forward copies all the data of the final month into all additional months

  • New Years Start Blank leaves the additional years in the version blank.

 

Lock Leading Months Through

Makes specified periods of data uneditable in the version.  If you have a custom calendar set up for your instance, this field name changes to reflect the lowest time segment available (day, week, month, and so on). See Lock or Hide Versions.

 

Default

Makes the version the default version for all users. The default version is bolded on the version list and only one version can be the default.  See Change Your Plan Version Default.

 

Actuals version for overlay

(Available for instances with actuals sub-versions only). Overlays the plan data with the actuals version data you choose from the drop-down.  The data in actuals is visible to anyone with access to the plan, even if the actuals version is hidden. See Setup or Turn Off Actuals Overlay.

 

Create Plan Folders

Folders can organize plan and virtual versions. To create a new folder:

  1. Select a planning version in the tree to make Create new folder available.
  2. Select Create new folder NewVersionFolder.png.
  3. Complete the Defining Folder Details (Planning Only).
  4. Select Save SaveVersion.png or DiscardChanges.png to cancel.
 
  • Was this article helpful?