You can organize metric accounts, custom accounts, and assumptions in administrator-defined groups. A group is a rollup account that does not sum the values of its components. An account group is a way to organize accounts without summing them.
Create a Group
The Create Group icon appears on the Accounts page only if you are managing a metric account, custom account, or assumption.
For example, suppose your model has many assumptions. You want to organize them in groups to make them easier to find from the Formula Assistant. The following explains how to create a group for a set of assumptions.
To set up a group for an assumption:
- Navigate to Modeling > Model Management > Assumptions.
- If not already highlighted, click Assumptions at the top of the accounts list.
- Click to create a Group. Use the Account Details plane to define and create the group.
Example: Name the group Personnel Assumptions.
- Click to save.
- In the account tree, drag an assumption and drop it into the new group.
Use a Grouped Assumption
Grouped assumptions are easier to find in the Formula Assistant because they are grouped together.
Wherever accounts are listed by type, for example, in report and sheet editors, this new group is displayed under Assumptions.
A few things to keep in mind about account groups:
- Group names cannot be selected for inclusion in a formula. They are only an organization tool.
- Remember that a group is a way to gather accounts together. The accounts are not summed. If accounts need to be summed, create a rollup account rather than a group.
- A group can be added to a sheet or report in the Select Accounts step.
Accounts with child accounts are different from accounts without them. Accounts with child accounts are rollup accounts, and cannot store values of their own.
When a child account is added to an account, the original account can no longer hold values of its own. Any formulas in the original account are moved to the new child account. Likewise, if there is only one child account of a parent account, if the child account is deleted, the formulas or values from the child account are transferred to the former parent account. If there are multiple child accounts, deleting one of them does not change the formulas in the other child accounts.
For example, the Training account currently has no sub-accounts and has only the following formula:
You add the sub-account named On-Site Training. The formula is moved to the sub-account. If On-Site Training is subsequently deleted, the formula is moved back to the parent Training account.
Note: For an account to appear in the Rolls up to field, a sub-account must exist below the account. You can delete the first sub-account after others accounts are added. Before deleting, be sure the sub-account does not contain any important data from the original account.