Skip to main content
Adaptive Insights
Knowledge and Support - Adaptive Insights

Plan Version Details

To create or edit plan versions, complete the Version Details described here. 

General Section

Field Name: Field Description:
Name

(required) Version name must be unique. For example: "Budget 2009" and "Profit Plan 2008 - Version 2." 

Short name

Overrides the automatic abbreviation of the version name.

Description

Describes the version, but only displays on this screen.

Access Control Section

Field Name: Field Description:
Locked version

Prevents anyone from editing the data. Any user access defined for the version will automatically adjust to Locked or Locked Except Notes. Check this option to close out a version as the budget of record for a given year. 

Global changes, like adding or deleting accounts or levels will affect locked versions 

Calculate formulas values

If you checked Locked version, you can also select this option which permanently saves any calculated values in the version. This speeds up load time because values don't need to be calculated each time the report or the sheet is opened. 

Once a version has had Calculate formula values applied to it, any structural changes that affect formulas, such as changing accounts, may require you to apply these formulas again.

Define the access for each user type listed:

User Types

Administrators define roles in Administration > Roles and Permissions, where permissions are selected for that role. Roles are then assigned to Users a assigned roles through  Administration > Users. The user types listed in this section are identified by the permissions of the role assigned to them. 

Field Name: Field Description:
Administrators Roles with Model Management > Versions permissions
Users All users, regardless of permissions and roles.
Group Global user groups are defined by your admin in Administration > User Groups. If users are part of more than one group and the group access conflicts with their role permission, their access defaults to the highest access available.
Actuals access Roles with  Privileged Actuals Access permissions. You'll only see this user type listed if you're creating or editing actuals, actuals sub-versions, journal entry versions, or virtual versions.
Editable sheet access Roles with Access Sheets > Editable Sheet Access permissions. You'll only see this user type listed if you're creating or editing plan versions and folders.

Access Options Per User

Different access options are available based on version type and whether or not it has versions nested below it. Select the access from the dropdown to the right of each user type (for groups the dropdown will be below the groups dropdown). 

Access Option Per User Type: View in
Sheets 
Edit in
Sheets
Add
Notes
Use in
Reports
Import Data
into Version
Note
Visible       Available to Actuals ONLY
Hidden from Version Selector           Available to Actuals ONLY
Hidden             
Import and Notes Only      
Full Access  
Locked Except Notes        
Locked         

Options

Field Name: Field Description:
Left scroll limit

Sets how far back users can see of the version when viewing sheets and reports. For example, if you select the year 2016, the user can see data from January 2016 to the End of Plan date.  

It can be prior to the Start of plan date, but not after. Time periods prior to start of plan display actual data if they have been marked as completed in the Actuals version.  

See Changing the Left Scroll Limit.

End of plan

When the version ends. Select the fiscal year and it will default to the first segment of the smallest time period of the selected year, for example January of that year if months are the smallest time period.

Start of plan

When the version begins. Select the fiscal year and it will default to the last segment of the smallest time period of the selected year. For example December if months are the smallest time period.

Lock leading months through

Locks version portions from the start to a specified time segment. If you have a custom calendar set up for your instance, this field name changes to reflect the lowest time segment available (day, week, month, and so on).

  • Completion Month: locks from the start of plan/version to completed values in your root actuals. For example, if the actuals has Completed values through set to April, then January, February, March, and April will be locked, but the rest of the first year of the version will not be locked.
  • The Drop-down Menu: locks time segments from the start of plan/version through a selected segment. For example, if you select March and the start of plan month is January, then January, February, and March will be locked, but the rest of the first year of the version will not be locked.
  • Blank: locks the version according to the Access Control settings.

When sheets have a larger time segment than the version, (the sheet is by quarter and the version is by month), the sheet will be locked through the end of its previous segment. For example, if you have locked a version through April, a sheet displaying quarters will be locked through March, the end of Q1.

Default

Makes the version the default version for all users. The default version is bolded on the version list and only one version can be the default. 

Audit Trail

Tracks user changes to data in sheets, through imports, and from updates made in the Formulas Tab. With this setting, users can create Audit Trail Searches in Reports.

If you uncheck this option for a version, all previously recorded Audit Trail information for that version is deleted.

Actuals overlay includes unavailable levels

Displays all levels, even ones that are no longer used, in actuals overlays. 

Actuals version for overlay

(available with Adaptive Consolidation only). Sets the actuals version that will overlay plan data for this version.

Drill into Transactions

(available only with transaction module) Enables the ability to drill into transactions for the version. See Transaction Reports and Drill Through. This option only works for Adaptive drill-through and does not work for NetSuite drill through. The default setting shows raw transaction reports. If a version with this option enabled is cloned, the clone defaults with this setting.

New Version Options

These options only appear if this is a new plan version:

Field Name: Field Description: 
Start as a copy of version

Copies the data of an existing version to start the new version. Select the version to copy.

Copy all data

Copies all numbers and formulas in standard accounts, cube accounts, assumptions, and exchange rates from the source version to the newly created version. Data on modeled sheets is copied only if modeled rows are also included.

Copy shared formulas and rules

Copies all formulas from the Formulas tab and rule scopes from rule administration pages, such as Allocation Rules.

Copy splits in GL and custom accounts

Copies all splits in GL and Custom Accounts from the source version. These splits retain all dimensions, but their numeric values (any values on the rows which correspond to months) are copied only if the Copy all data check box above is checked.

Copy modeled rows

Copies all modeled rows from the source version. These rows retain all dimensions, but their initial-balance and timespan values (any values on the rows that correspond to months) are copied only if the Copy all data check box is checked.

Copy cell, sheet, and workflow notes

Copies all cell, sheet, and workflow notes from the source version, along with information about who last updated them and when. If not checked, the new version starts with no cell, sheet, or workflow notes at all.

Reset workflow status to in progress

Sets all sheets and other workflow items to in progress for the new version. If not checked, all workflow items in the new version will retain the current status as of the copy. If workflow status is complete in the version being copied, for example, the new version will be read-only. 

Copy audit trail history

Copies the audit trail history from the version being copied. If not checked, the audit trail history is empty in the new version. If you want the new version to start tracking changes made only within the new version itself, leave the box unchecked.

Add as report parameter choice to all reports

Includes new version in any reports with versions as a parameter. When unchecked, the new version is only added to reports with the source version as a parameter.

  • Was this article helpful?