Skip to main content
Adaptive Insights
Knowledge and Support - Adaptive Insights

Parent or Reparent Levels

Explains how to edit the Rolls up to setting and describes what happens to the data when you parent levels, reparent levels, or reorganize the level structure.

Audience: Admins who manage the model.

To reparent a level, you change the parent of the level. When you parent a level, you make a leaf-level or a level with no child levels, a parent. Reparenting and parenting levels affects how your model rolls data up through the organization structure.

The Rolls up to drop-down determines a level's parent. It contains all the levels and child levels in your hierarchy:

Rolls up to field

Level hierarchy changes apply to all versions, even locked and actuals versions. 

Before You Begin

  • New to Levels? See Levels Overview and Levels Interface Tour.
  • Required permission: Model Management Access > Organization Structure
  • Additional permissions: Model Management Access > Structure Import to import bulk updates.
  • Settings of parent levels trickle down to child levels, even if you're cloning a level. You won't see the inherited settings change until you save. These settings override any changes you make before you saved. See Inherited or Cloned Level Settings and Data
  • To prevent permanently deleting data or hiding it, compare and contrast the settings of the intended parent and the level you're reparenting.
    • Make the intended parent level available in all the same versions as the intended child level. When you reparent, the data will save. If the parent isn't available in the same versions, you lose the data in child version and you cannot recover it.
    • Add the intended parent to the sheets that the intended child is on. If the parent isn't on a sheet, the child won't be on the sheet either and the associated data will be hidden. You can add the parent and the child level to the sheet and the data appears again. 

What Happens to Data when You Reparent

When you reparent, you can delete, change, or hide the data in unanticipated ways. This scenario helps to explain what you can expect:

The Engineering level rolls up to Product Management. You reparent it to roll up to Research and Development. 

  • Data changes with Rollups: The values in both the Product Management and Research and Development levels change for all versions, even locked versions because all the data associated with Engineering rolls up to a different level. 
  • Data deletes with version availability: Product Management is available to the Working Budget version, but Research and Development isn't. When you reparent, you delete the data for Engineering in the Working Budget. If you add Working Budget to Research Development afterwards, you do not recover the lost data for Engineering. 
  • Data is hidden with different sheets: The Product Management level is on the P&L sheet, but Research and Development is not. When you reparent, the Enginnering data that was entered on the P&L sheet cannot be seen on that sheet anymore. You would have to add the sheet Research and Development and to Engineering to see the data. 

How You Get There

Navigation Icon5.png From the nav menu, click Modeling. From the Levels and Dimension menu, choose Levels.

Parent Levels 

When you parent levels, Adaptive Insights creates a related (Only) level. The existing shared formulas and data of the new parent level populates the (Only) level. Both the (Only) level and any new child levels roll up to the new parent level. See Levels Overview.

  1. Create or edit a level.
  2. Choose the leaf-level you want to parent from the Rolls up to drop-down.
  3. Save the level.
  4. Review the remaining settings to see what changed to match the parent settings.
  5. Edit as needed and save.

Reparent Levels

When you reparent levels, the data, formulas, and shared formulas stay with the level and don't change. For bulk changes to the hierarchy, import the edits by editing the Rolls up to column in the template for the levels you're reparenting.

To manually reparent:

  1. Select the level from the list and:
    • Click the level again and hold to drag and drop to a new location in the level list.
    • Or, from the settings, choose a different level from the Rolls up to drop-down and save.
  2. Review the remaining settings to see if what changed to match the parent settings.
  3. Edit as needed and save.
  • Was this article helpful?