Skip to main content
Adaptive Insights
Knowledge @ Adaptive Insights LLC, a Workday company.

Create and Edit Plan Versions

Create different plan versions with the different buttons in the toolbar:

  • NewPlanVersion.png Plan versions: Copies of existing plans. You can choose how much to copy.
  • New Virtual Version2.png Virtual versions: Composites of other versions. See Create Virtual Versions
  • NewVersionFolder.png Plan folders: Organize plan versions. 

When you select Create New Plan Version NewPlanVersion.png, you start the version as a copy of whatever version you selected from the version list. If you select a plan folder, you copy your default version. In the New Version Options section, choose the options to control how much of the version you copy. 

Before You Begin

  • New to Versions? See Version Overview and Version Types.
  • Required permission: Model Management Access > Model and Model Management Access > Versions

How You Get There

Compass.png From the nav menu, click Modeling. Then, from the Versions and Time menu, click Versions.

Copy Plan Data

Copies the entire plan version, including all the data.

  1. From the version list, select the plan version to copy.
  2. Temporarily lock the version so all data copies to the new version. In the Access Control section, check the Locked version option. The drop-downs for Administrators, Users, Editable sheet access and Group change to Locked Except Notes
    LockVersion.png
  3. Save the version.
  4. Select Create New Plan Version NewPlanVersion.png and enter a name for the new version. In the Description, include the name of the copied version for future reference. 
  5. In the New Version Options section:
    1. Check these options:
      • Copy all data
      • Copy shared formulas and rules
      • Copy Audit trail to keep the history of the copied version.
    2. Consider checking: 
      • Copy splits in GL and custom accounts: Otherwise, you'll just copy the totals. 
      • Copy modeled rows: Otherwise, modeled sheets will have no rows until you add them. If you copy them, you can edit the rows with updates.
      • Copy cell, sheet, and workflow notes
      • Add as report parameter: This new version becomes an option automatically for all reports that use version as a parameter.
         Suggested settings to copy a version
    3. Consider unchecking Reset workflow status to in progress, so that you copy the rejected and approved workflow statuses of the version you're copying. 
  6. Save the version.
  7. Return to the original version that you copied:
    1. Uncheck the Locked version option.
    2. Update the access in each of the drop-downs in the Access Control section. 

Copy Version without Data

Copies the version rules, splits, and more, but leaves the data blank

  1. Uncheck Copy all data.
  2. Consider checking: 
    • Copy shared formulas and rules: In the cells, you see f(x) until you enter the referenced data. 
    • Copy splits in GL and custom accounts: Sheets and reports keep the splits and associated dimensions. The split cells in the sheets will be blank.
    • Copy modeled rows: The modeled sheets have all the rows with the dimensions but not the initial balances and cell data. Otherwise the model sheets have no rows and you must add them. 
  3. Save.

Create Plans without Copying

Creates a completely fresh version:

  1. From Start as Copy of Version drop-down, leave the default selected . The other options you select prevent the copy.
  2. Uncheck:
  • Copy all data
  • Copy splits in GL and custom accounts
  • Copy modeled rows
  • Copy cell, sheet, and workflow notes
  • Copy audit trail history

    New plan version settings when you don't want to copy
  1. Select Reset workflow status to in progress so you don't keep the rejected and approved workflow statuses of the version you're copying. 
  2. Consider selecting: 
  • Copy shared formulas to copy the shared formulas of the selected plan into your new plan. Otherwise, you must recreate shared formulas for the new plan. 
  • Add as report parameter and reports that filter by version will automatically have this new version as a filter option. 

Select Plan Version Options

These are the major settings for plan versions. For a full description of each setting, see Plan Versions Fields and Settings.

Settings Description

Left Scroll Limit

The earliest time period you can see of this version. Choose a fiscal year, and the starting time is the first period of that year, usually January.  See Change the Left Scroll Limit.

End of Plan

The last time period you can see. Anytime you choose an end of plan date that comes after the pre-selected time period, Extension Options appear at the bottom of the screen. You can choose what to copy into the additional years of the plan for assumptions, value lookups, and all other accounts:

  • Copy Final Year Forward copies the data of the final year into all additional years. 

  • Copy Final Month Forward copies all the data of the final month into all additional months

  • New Years Start Blank leaves the additional years in the version blank.

Lock Leading Months Through

Makes specified periods of data uneditable in the version. If you use this setting to lock a period of time, it overrides Access Controls. For example, if you select Full Access for Users, users can't edit the specified time periods. If you leave this setting blank, the version is editable except as defined in the Access Controls. See Lock or Hide Versions and Version Access Controls.

Default

Makes the version the default for your team until they choose a different one. See Change Your Plan Version Default

Actuals version for overlay

Overlays the plan data with the actuals version data you choose from the drop-down.  See Setup or Turn Off Actuals Overlay.

This field is only available if you have actuals sub-versions. 

Create Plan Folders

Folders can organize plan and virtual versions. To create a new folder:

  1. Click a planning version in the tree to make Create new folder available.
  2. Click Create new folder NewVersionFolder.png.
  3. Complete the Defining Folder Details (Planning Only).
  4. Click Save SaveVersion.png or DiscardChanges.png to cancel.
 
  • Was this article helpful?