Skip to main content
Adaptive Insights
Knowledge and Support - Adaptive Insights

Delete or Retire Levels

Explains how to delete a level or retire a level from versions, sheets, or user access.

Audience: Admins who manage the model.

Levels are the organizational structures of your business. For example, levels represent departments, profit centers, cost centers, or geographical regions.

To remove a level from your model:

  • Retire it: Limits the visibility of the data in versions, on sheets, and to users. Generally, it's best to retire levels.
  • Delete it: Deletes all the level's data. This affects data in other accounts that reference this level in formulas.

What Happens to Data and Level Visibility

Type of Retirement Data Level Visibility
Delete Levels

Deletes historical data

Prevents data entry and visibility

Not visible in the model
Retire from Versions

Deletes historical data

Prevents future data entry and visibility

Visible in Modeling > Levels

Not visible in any sheets

Visible in reports, charts

Retire from Sheets

Saves historical data for charts and reports

Prevents data entry and visibility in specified sheets

 

Visible in Modeling  > Levels

Not visible in specified sheets

Visible in reports, charts

Retire from Users

Saves historical data for charts and reports for other users.

Prevents data entry and visibility for specified users.

Visible in Modeling > Levels

Not visible for specified users in sheets, reports, charts.

Before You Begin

  • New to Levels? See Levels Overview and Levels Interface Tour.
  • Required permission: Model Management Access > Organization Structure
  • Additional permissions: Model Management Access > Structure Import to import bulk updates.

How You Get There

Navigation Icon5.png From the nav menu, click Modeling. From the Levels and Dimension menu, choose Levels.

Retire Levels 

Retire levels to save data. To retire levels, make them unavailable for current or future versions, sheets, or users. You can use the retired level's historical data in reports and view it in sheets. See Change Level Availability in Versions.

Retire from Versions

When you make a level unavailable in existing versions, you delete the historical data. Make levels unavailable to new versions only.

Retire from Plan Versions

  1. In the Version and Availability section of the level's settings, select the version from the drop-down.
  2. Uncheck the checkbox:

Retire levels from plan versions setting

  1. Click Save.
  2. Read the validation message, click the checkbox to confirm and click Save.

Retire from Actuals Versions

If you have sub-versions of actuals, they don't appear in the drop-down. Retire the level from a specified time period of the root actuals and this automatically retires the level from the same portion of all sub-versions. You also delete any existing data in that time period for the root actuals and all sub-versions. 

  1. In the Version and Availability section of the level's settings, choose a calendar-based start and end period from the drop-downs. If you choose Start of Version and End of Version, you delete all the data for the level in actuals. Keep historical data by selecting an Actuals Start date after the last data entry of historical data.

Retire levels from actuals versions setting

  1. Click Save.
  2. Read the validation message, click the checkbox to confirm and click Save.

Retire from Sheets

  1. In the Sheets section of the level's settings, clear the checkboxes next to all the sheets.
  2. Click Save.
  3. Read the validation message, click the checkbox to confirm, and click Save.

You can't view the level's data in sheets that aren't checked, but the data continues to exist in the database for reports.

Retire from User Access

Edit the user settings. This removes the levels from the user's view of the entire model. Users who still have access to the level, can view it, and add data. See Assign Level Access to Users.

Delete Levels

When you delete:

  • Any level: Deletes all data in all versions, even locked versions.
  • Parent levels: Deletes the child levels. 
  • All child levels of a parent: Deleted all data in child levels except the corresponding (Only) level. The data and shared formulas in the corresponding (Only) level moves to the former parent level. The (Only) level no longer appears in sheets and reports. 

To delete levels:

  1. From the level list, highlight the level.
  2. In the settings, click View Dependencies. If there are dependencies, consider editing them. For example, if other accounts or formulas use the level for calculations, the intersection of data appears as an error and the calculated data is lost, even in locked versions. 
  3. From the toolbar, click Delete TrashIcon.png
  4. Click Yes to confirm. 
  • Was this article helpful?