Skip to main content
Adaptive Insights
Knowledge @ Adaptive Insights LLC, a Workday company.

What is the Make New Actuals Visible option?

 

Question

What does the "Make New Actuals Visible" option control when importing Actuals data?

Answer

When importing Actuals data, whether through a standard spreadsheet import, an automated task, or a manual loader run you may see the option to "Make New Actuals Visible".  

Make New Actuals Visible.png

The "Make New Actuals Visible" option is available when Import Type is set to Actuals. If this box is checked, the Actuals version has its "Completed Val­ues Through" date set to the final month of data found in the import, making the imported data available for overlaying plan data in plan versions.  The "Completed Values Through" date is a field that can be changed in the Actuals version settings (Modeling>Versions). The date that is set in this field determines to what time period Actuals data is displayed when overlaying a plan version.

Completed Values Through.png

The "Make New Actuals Visible" option does not affect the visibility of the data in the Actuals version. All data being imported will be visible in the Actuals version, but if the "Make New Actuals Visible" option is not enabled during import, the "Completed Values Through" date will not update to include the new period of Actuals and thus will not be included in the Actuals overlay on top of plan versions.

Plan Version Actuals Overlay.png

 

Actuals.png

When the "Make New Actuals Visible" option is disabled, any user with access to the Actuals version will have the ability to view the new Actuals data if they are viewing the Actuals version. No user, regardless of version permissions, will be able to view the new Actuals data overlaid on top of any plan version until the "Completed Values Through" field is updated to include the new time period of Actuals. The "Make New Actuals Visible" option is simply a feature that allows you to update the "Completed Values Through" settings automatically during import. Users are still assigned access to data on a version by version basis from Modeling>Versions.