Skip to main content
Adaptive Insights
Knowledge and Support - Adaptive Insights

Share Perspectives

Explains how to use Discovery to share a perspective and its dashboards and charts with others.  Includes how to edit and publish shared content.

Sharing a perspective lets you collaborate with others by giving them view or edit access to your dashboards and charts.

Perspectives are personal (private for your eyes only) or shared (available to others). Personal and shared perspectives are contextual and will display in your Perspectives Overview only when they have content. The following shows personal and shared perspectives in list view and grid view:

Personal and Shared Perspectives in Grid View

When you share a perspective, you and others with Edit access can:

  • Share or unshare shared perspectives with others.
  • Check out, lock, and edit a perspective.
  • Publish and unlock a checked out perspective.

Before You Begin

How You Get There

Navigation Icon5.png From the nav menu, click Discovery to display the Perspective Overview.

Share or Unshare a Perspective

You can share Personal perspectives with anyone who has access to Discovery. You can give others view or edit access to the perspective:

Pick Users When Sharing a Perspective

The Owner icon Disc-ownerSharedPerspective_icon.png displays next to a perspective indicating that you created this perspective and are the owner.

You can share or unshare Shared perspectives if you have Edit access to the perspective.

  1. On the perspective, click the More iconMore Iconand choose Share. The Share Perspective dialog displays.
  2. Browse or search for users:
    • Filter the list by All Users, Can View, or Can Edit.
    • Search for specific person.  Type a name or email address. Auto-complete will filter the list as you type.
  3. For each user, click view-icon.png to give them view access or editShare.png to give edit access to the perspective.
  4. Click Save.

Check out a Shared Perspective

Anyone who has Edit access to shared perspectives can edit the contents of the perspective, including dashboards and charts.  

You must check out the perspective to edit – even if you are the owner. Checking out a shared perspective locks it and moves a version of the perspective into your personal folder until you publish the changes. Locking prevents others from editing the perspective. Others can continue to view the published version.

Edit the Contents of a Shared Perspective

  1. On the shared perspective, click the More icon More Icon and choose Checkout. The following shows two grid views of the checked out and locked Company Summary perspective:

Example Views of Perspective as Seen by Editor and Owner

1 View from the person who checked out the perspective. The shared perspective displays in the personal and shared folders. The Edit icon DIS-editShareIcon.png indicates that the perspective is checked out for editing. The Lock icon DIS-lockIcon.png indicates that the perspective is checked out and unavailable for others to edit.

2 View from the owner. The owner can see that the perspective is checked out by another person. Hover over the Lock icon to see who has the perspective checked out.

  1. Click the perspective to access the contents.
  2. Click Edit Icon and make your changes. Click Done when you are done editing.

Publish the Perspective

You can publish the perspective when you are ready to make the changes viewable to other users who have shared access to this perspective. Publishing checks the perspective in and makes it available for other users to view, check out, and edit. You can publish a perspective with the Edit icon:

Perspective to Publish

  1. On the perspective, click the More icon More icon and choose Publish. In Grid view, the perspective no longer displays in your personal folder.

Others can view your changes and check out the perspective for more edits.

  • Was this article helpful?