Skip to main content
Adaptive Insights
Knowledge and Support - Adaptive Insights

Managing Consolidation Versions

Sub-versions let you partition your actuals version. You can define sub-versions in any number of configurations. For example, Imported Actuals, Eliminations and Manual Adjustments.

Sub-versions of actuals are designated to only permit data entry through formal journal entries. This lets you restrict manual adjustments to only accept balanced entries while also presenting them in the familiar form of accounting-style journal entries.

Sub-versions roll up to the main actuals version. No data is duplicated.

Note: If your model includes Adaptive Planning and Consolidation, use the plan versions with Consolidation to see how various scenarios play out.

Actuals versions and plan versions are kept separate in the version tree. Granting separate permissions to each user can help control who can access and edit certain sets of data.

Consider the following when managing versions for consolidation:

  • Deleted sub-versions: If the deleted sub-version is the last child of its parent, data associated with the sub-version is rolled into the parent. If there are multiple child sub-versions, only data from the last deleted version is rolled into to the parent.
  • Locked sub-versions:You can lock versions for a specific user, user group, or for all and lock all or some parts of a version, such when enabling the Locked leading months through option. Consider the following:
    • Data in a locked version cannot be edited except for structural changes and changes to formulas referred to by cells in the version.
    • Data in months locked by Lock leading months through cannot be edited – except for structural changes. Any formulas referred to by cells in the locked time period cannot be edited.

Create a Sub-version

You can create as many sub-versions of actuals as you want. For example, keeping your imported numbers in your GL separate from your manual adjustments and allocations.

To create a new sub-version:

  1. Navigate to Modeling > Model Management > Versions .
  2. Highlight the version under which you want the new version to appear if you have existing sub-versions of actuals. If you don’t have existing sub-versions, the root actuals version is highlighted by default.
  3. Click Create Actuals Version Icon to create an actuals sub-version. The Version Details pane appears.

New actuals sub-versions contain no data unless they are the first child version of their parent. If the first child, data from the parent version is moved into the first child actual version.

  1. Populate the fields in the Version Details section. See the following Version Details for descriptions of each of the fields in this section.
  2. Click SaveVersion.png to save.

Version Detail Descriptions

General

Setting Description
Name

Required. Represents the name of the version. The ver­sion name must be unique.

Short Name

Optional. Overrides the default abbreviation of the version name.

Access Control

A version can have one of the following permission levels for each of the listed groups of users:

  • Hidden: Version cannot be viewed.

  • Locked: Version can be viewed. A locked version is provided for reference only. This permission is useful for closing a version as the budget of record for a given year.

  • Locked Except Notes: Version can be viewed.You can add or edit notes, but cannot edit version data.

  • Import and Notes Only: Version can be viewed. You can add or edit notes, can import, but cannot edit version data. 

  • Full Access: Version can be edited.

Each group of users can be assigned one of the permission. Each users in the group is given the permission to the version. If users are in more than one group, they receive the highest level of permission. The groups of users are: 

  • Administrators: Users with Version Admin permission

  • Actuals access (for actuals versions): Users who have Privileged Actuals Access permission

  • Editable sheet access (for planning versions and folders): Users who have Editable Sheet Access permission

  • Users: All users

  • Group: Any named global user group

Options

Setting Description
Fiscal Year

Read only. A company-wide setting.

Start of version

 Indicates where the data begins. The left scroll limit month will always be the first month of the fiscal year. Specify the year in which the actual data will begin.

Starting scroll location

This is where the data begins for plan versions and where sheets will begin for actuals versions. Time periods prior to Start of plan/Starting scroll location will display data if it has been imported.

  • Completed values through (root actuals version only): Select the latest month for which all values are completed. This is usually the month you have just closed.

  • Lock leading months through: If this is left blank, the version will not be locked except as marked in the Access Control section. You can use the drop-down menu to lock all months from the start of plan through a selected month, or to lock all months from the start of plan through the current month set for the Completed values through month in the root actuals version.
    For example, if Lock leading months through is set to March and the start of plan month is January, then January, February, and March will be locked, but the rest of the first year of the version will not. In the same situation, if Set to Com­pletion Month is selected and the root actuals’ Completed values through set­ting is set to April, then January, February, March, and April will be locked, but the rest of the first year of the version will not.

  • Default: The default version is the version that is selected by default when users log into their planning model or consolidation instance. There is only one default version for each company’s planning model or consolidation instance. The default version is also the version that is copied when a new version is created.

Completed values through

Also known as root version only. Select the latest month for which all values are completed. This is usually the month you have just closed.

Lock leading months through

If this is left blank, the version will not be locked except as marked in the Access Control section. You can use the drop-down menu to lock all months from the start of plan through a selected month, or to lock all months from the start of plan through the current month set for the Completed values through month in the root actuals version.

For example, if Lock leading months through is set to March and the start of plan month is January, then January, February, and March will be locked, but the rest of the first year of the version will not. In the same situation, if Set to Completion Month is selected and the root actuals’ Completed values through setting is set to April, then January, February, March, and April will be locked, but the rest of the first year of the version will not.

Default

The default version is the version that is selected by default when users log into their planning model or consolidation instance. There is only one default version for each company’s planning model or consolidation instance. The default version is also the version that is copied when a new version is created.

Reset work flow status to in progress

This field only appears when you are creating a new planning version. It refers to the “In Progress” state in the Work­flow functionality. When the levels in a version have been approved in Workflow through the top level of the company, the version becomes read-only. To reset all the levels in a newly-created copy of that version to “In Progress,” select Yes. To preserve the workflow status of the version being copied, select No.

Audit Trail

This must be turned on for any version where you want to track user changes in sheets, changes made through import, and updates in the Formulas screen. Note that not all activity in the Formulas screen is tracked).

Drill into Transactions

This option is visible for those who purchase the trans­action module. If you want transaction drill-through specific to a version, select a shared transaction report filtered for that version. Drill into Transactions only works for Adaptive drill-through and does not work for NetSuite drill through. The default setting shows raw transaction reports. If a version with this option enabled is cloned, the clone gets this setting.

Copy audit trail history

If audit trail is on in the version you are copying, you can choose to copy the audit trail history from that version by leaving the box next to this field checked. If you want to use Audit Trail, but you want to start tracking changes made in the new version only, deselect the box next to this field. Unchecking this box will delete the audit trail for the version in which you are working.

  • Was this article helpful?