Skip to main content
Adaptive Insights
Knowledge and Support - Adaptive Insights

Create and Edit Roles

Explains how to create and edit roles and assign roles to users.

A role is set of permissions that defines user access to the Adaptive Insights. As an administrator, you can create as many roles as you need, edit existing roles, and assign roles to different users. Every user needs an assigned role to log in.

Before You Begin

  • Verify that you have the Admin Access > Roles permission. Where noted, you also need Admin Access > User permission.
  • Check out Roles and Permissions for overview information.
  • Review the Available Permissions.

Get to the Roles Page

From the navigation menu, click Administration and then Roles and Permissions

Add New Roles

  1. From the Roles page, click New Role at the bottom of the page, and enter a Role Name in the first field. 
  • The most common permissions are pre-selected for you. This is a standard template. 
  • You can choose a different template: View Only or Full Seat. 
  1. Hover over each permission for tool-tip information. Check or clear any permissions or use the default template as-is.
  2. Click Submit.  
  3. Assign the role to any user. 

Edit Roles

When you edit a role, you change the permissions of every user who has the role.

To edit a role, go to the Roles page: 

  • Click the Edit link next to the role you're editing. Select or clear permissions. 
  • Or, click the Role name from the list. You see a list of the permissions and the users with the role as shown below:

When you click Edit, you see this page.

1 Click the Edit button at the top of the page to add or remove permissions. 

2 Click the Assign Users to Role to add or remove users from the role. 

3 Click the Edit link next to a user name to assign a different role to the specific user.  This option is only visible if you have Admin Access > User permission.  

Assign Roles to or Remove Roles from Users

You can only assign roles to and remove roles from users if you have the Admin Access > Roles permission. There are many different ways to do this, depending on if you have just Roles or both Roles and Users permissions. If you have both permissions, you can choose any method.

Edit the User's Role

Permission Required: Admin Access > Users and Admin Access > Roles

  1. Go to Administration > Users.
  2. From the All Users page, find the user in the list and click the Edit link next to the Login (username). 
  3. Select a different role from the Role dropdown and click Submit

Edit the Role's Users

Permission Required: Admin Access > Users and Admin Access > Roles

  1. Go to Administration > Roles and Permissions
  2. From the Roles page, click the Role name link. 
  3. At the bottom of the page is a list of users with the role. To change the role of the users, click Edit next to the user's name. This opens the user profile.
  4. In the Roles dropdown, select a different role and click Submit.

Assign Roles

Permission Required: ONLY Admin Access > Roles

  1. Go to Administration > Roles and Permissions
  2. From the Roles page, click the Assign link next to the role name. In the Available User box is a list of all users. In the Selected Users box is a list of all users who have the role.
  3. Select a user from either list and use the forward and backward arrows to move them to and from the Selected Users box. 
  4. Click Submit.

Edit Roles

Permission Required: ONLY Admin Access > Roles

  1. Go to Administration > Roles and Permissions
  2. From the Roles page, click the Role name link. 
  3. At the bottom of the page, click the Assign User to Role button. In the Available User box is a list of all users. In the Selected Users box is a list of all users who have the role.
  4. Select a user from the list and use the forward and backward arrows to move them to and from the Selected Users box. 
  5. Click Submit.

If you removed a user from a role, you have a chance to assign a different role. If you leave the user without a role, the user won't be able to log in to the Adaptive Insights

Delete Roles

When you delete a role, you remove all the permissions from users that have that role. Assign them a different role so they don't get locked out of the Adaptive Insights.

  1. From the Roles page, click Delete next to the role name. 
  2. Confirm that you want to delete the role. 
  3. A list of all users with the role appears. Select a role from the dropdown for each user. If you choose Unassigned, they won't be able to log in to the Adaptive Insights.
  4. Click Submit.
  • Was this article helpful?