Skip to main content
Adaptive Insights
Knowledge and Support - Adaptive Insights

Create and Edit Users

Explains how to add new users and edit users.

As an administrator, you can create Adaptive users and edit existing users.

Before You Start

Verify that you have the necessary permissions: 

  • Admin Access > Users to create and edit users, and update passwords.
  • Model Management Access > Organization Structure to assign levels to users.
  • Admin Access > Roles to assign users roles. All users need an assigned role to log in.

Get overview information about Adaptive users

Get to the All Users Page

From the navigation menu, click Administration and then Users

Add New Users

Add New Users from User Page

Required Permission: Admin Access > Users 

  1. From the All Users page, click the New User button.
  2. Complete at least the required fields: Name, Username and Password.  See User Fields for more information on all the fields. 
  3. If you have Model Management Access > Organization Structure permissions, select the Level Access for the user.
  4. You must assign the user a Role to give the new user access to the Adaptive Suite. The roles are defined by selecting available permissions (go to Administration > Roles and Permissions). 
  5. Consider adding an Email address or selecting the Use username as email radio button. An email icon  appears next to the username on the All Users page. Click the email icon to send the user an email.  
  6. Click Submit to save your changes.  The new user is added to the list of all users. 

Add New Users from Roles Page

Required Permission: Admin Access > Users and Roles

  1. Go to Administration > Roles and Permissions
  2. From the list of roles, click the name of the role. 
  3. Click the New User button. The user profile has the role pre-selected. 
  4. Complete the rest of the fields and click Submit.

Change or Unlock Passwords 

If your system has a maximum number of allowed login attempts defined in General Setup, your users can get locked out. Administrators can reset passwords and unlock them:

  1. From the All Users page, find the user in the list and click the Edit link next to the Login (username). 
  2. At the bottom of the page, type a new password in the Password and Re-enter password fields. 
  3. Click Submit

The user may be prompted to change their password as soon as they log in with the new password you created. To enable this option, go to Administration > General Setup and choose the option in the Password Reset Management section. 

If a user has been locked out, you see a State dropdown under the Password fields. To unlock the user, select Unlocked from the dropdown and click Submit. The user can log in again without having to use a new password.

Passwords must conform to the password requirements defined in Administration > General Setup.

Assign User Level Access

Level access controls the sheets and the data a user can see while using the Adaptive Suite. You set up levels when you create the model: either one level, which is the entire company, or several levels in a hierarchical format. A company with several sub-levels may have different subsidiaries or different departments. The sub-levels also may have sub-levels, and so on. 

When you give users access to a level, the user gets access to all the sub-levels below it too. You can expand levels to be more precise.

  1. From the All Users page, find the user in the list and click the Edit link next to the Login (username). 
  2. Enter the level name in the search field or expand and collapse the level list. 
  3. Select the checkboxes next to any level that you want the user to be able to see in the Adaptive Suite
  • Select collapsed levels to include all the sub-levels within it. 
  • Expand collapsed levels to be more precise in your selection. 
  1. Click Submit

Assign or Change User Roles

There are many ways to change a user's role. See Create and Edit Roles

Delete Users

Find the user in the list and click the Edit link next to the Login (username). Click the Delete button at the bottom of the page and click OK

Deleting a user does not delete:

  • Data they entered.
  • Shared reports they created.
  • Audit trail history they created.
  • Action logs, such as import history or user activity login history.

It does delete any personal reports they created. 

In a multi-instance configuration deleting a user only deletes them from the instance you're in. If the user has access to more than one instance, you need to delete them from each one.

  • Was this article helpful?