Skip to main content
Adaptive Insights
Knowledge and Support - Adaptive Insights

Admin Publishing

Admin Publishing is a feature available for Adaptive Planning and Consolidation. It is designed for customers who frequently make structural changes (for example, adding a level or editing account attributes) at the same time as users are working with the system. If this is your usage pattern, then Admin Publishing can dramatically improve the system performance experienced by your users. Admin Publishing enables you to save up numerous structural changes and then publish them all at once.

Best Practice: Use Admin Publishing any time you want to make multiple administrative changes while users are in the system. This will avoid users having to wait while the system updates your model separately for each change. By saving the changes and publishing them all at once, you minimize the impact to users.

Best Practice: Publish changes at a time when fewer users are working with the system. This further reduces user impact by lowering the number of users who will have to wait while the system updates your model to reflect the latest changes.

 Some of the benefits to using Admin Publishing are:

  • Structural changes are applied all at once, at the administrator’s convenience.
  • Administrators can make changes and see how they will affect the system without the changes actually going into effect.

Enabling and Disabling Admin Publishing

Admin Publishing can be turned on when you know you will be making a number of structural changes at once, then turned off again after the changes have been published. This keeps you from having to go through the publishing process for making a single change later on.

To turn on Admin Publishing:

  1. Log in to your Adaptive instance.
  2. Click Administration to access the Administration page.
  3. Click General Setup.
  4. Under Enable Features, check the box for Admin Publishing.
  5. Click Save.

To turn off Admin Publishing:

  1. Log in to your Adaptive instance.
  2. Click Administration to access the Administration page.
  3. Click General Setup.
  4. Under Enable Features, uncheck the box for Admin Publishing.
  5. Click Save.

Permissions

Only users with the Publishing permission will be able to create and manage unpublished changes. Administrative users without this permission will find affected features locked while there are unpublished changes. If a feature (for example, creating a new sheet) is impacted by unpublished changes, the feature will be disabled for all users until changes are published. However, since only administrative pages are affected by Admin Publishing, only administrative users will find features they can access locked.

The areas affected include:

  • Dimension admin
  • Attribute admin (level and account)
  • Sheet admin
  • Structural import in account and level admin
  • Changing level assignment on edit user page or deleting a user
  • Some fields on General Setup
  • Currencies and exchange rates (these will still be usable, but changes will not be applied until they are published)

On these pages, users will see a yellow bar on pages with locked functionality:

Other administrative pages will not be affected, and changes made to those features will be applied immediately. Lower-level users performing tasks like running a report or updating data in sheets will not be affected.

Using Admin Publishing

When Admin Publishing is enabled, any structural changes you make will activate a yellow warning bar. The warning bar will appear across the top of all structure-dependant pages to remind you of unpublished changes:

The bar offers you the ability to switch between two viewing states:

  • View Current: This mode allows you to view a read only version of your current instance.
  • Make Edits: viewing the state with your changes and continuing to make changes.

The bar also allows you to publish or delete your changes by clicking Manage changes and using the Manage Unpublished Changes page.

On the Manage Unpublished Changes page, you will see a list of all the changes you have made so far, along with their type and action. Put all your changes into effect by clicking Publish All, or discard your unpublished changes with Discard All.

  • Was this article helpful?