Skip to main content
Adaptive Insights
Knowledge @ Adaptive Insights LLC, a Workday company.

Hiding a Version From a Specific User

This article includes suggestions and workarounds. Content may not be accurate for all use cases or represent best practices for the latest release. 

Question

I have a user who I would like to hide a specific Version from, but would like all other users to have access to the same Version. How can I accomplish this?

Answer

When a user is included in multiple groups (i.e. Administrators, Users, Editable sheet access, Group), the user is granted the highest level of access that their group membership allows. So in this case, the best way to accomplish this would be to assign all users except for the user in question to a specific Global User Group. This can be done by users with the 'Manage Global User Groups' by navigating to Administration > Global User Groups > New Group. Then, within the Version Access Control settings, remove access for all groups except for this newly created Global User Group. This way, the Version will be hidden for the user that is not included in this group as desired.

 Group Access.png

  • Was this article helpful?